TryHackMe Advent of Cyber 2022 [Day 1]

Amol Rangari
3 min readDec 1, 2022

--

I am so excited about this Cyber Advent from TryHackMe and today the 1st of December is Day 1. TryHackMe has a lot of prizes for this Advent and I want to share my way of completing Day 1 here on Medium.

Day 1 starts pretty simple with a website, santagift.shop.

For this task, there are 3 puzzles that we need to solve

Puzzle 1/3

Clues for the first puzzle:

  1. Research is part of my ask, finding clues in public sources.
  2. Simple documents I turn into malware.
  3. A pizza, parcel or payload all have me as an action in common.
  4. A con is the name of my game, tricking you into believing a false identity.
  5. Weaknesses are my go-to resources; through them, I make my presence felt.
  6. I am set up to let you back into the network after you leave.
  7. Deletion of evidence is part of my process.
  8. Communication with the compromised goes through me.

Puzzle 2/3

Clues:

  1. I am an anchor that lets you go on an adventure and explore.
  2. With me, you can locate new information to expand the attack.
  3. Once a pawn, I became a King.
  4. My payloads are triggered to infect all they come in contact with.
  5. Passwords I collect are the keys to the mainframe.
  6. Side to side, machine to machine, we hop.

Puzzle 3/3

Clues:

  1. In your vault, I am in.
  2. Like a dragon, I gather all valuable loot.
  3. I export gathered treasures.
  4. With me, your reputation goes tumbling down.
  5. Goals set, goals attained. I win!

Thank you for reading my article! I have also attached my LinkTree if you want to get in contact with me.

My LinkTree:- https://linktr.ee/alexhack

--

--

Amol Rangari

I am Cyber Security Expert, Security Researcher and bug hunter